Five For United Called Into US Camp To Prepare For Mexico Friendly

Five DC United players — goalkeeper Troy Perkins, defenders Bobby Boswell and Bryan Namoff and midfielders Brian Carroll and Josh Gros — have been called into US national team training camp at the Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif. as it prepares for a Feb. 7 friendly against Mexico.

In addition, former University of Maryland standout Taylor Twellman will be in camp also.

With camp beginning Jan. 25, the United contingent will miss the opening of their team’s preseason’s preparations in Bradenton.

  • Bradley has also submitted releases for eight European players.
  • Match details: Feb. 7, 9 p.m. ET at University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Ariz., broadcast on ESPN2 and Univision.
  • Bradley: "All the little things that surround a USA-Mexico game – whether it is great crowds, intense competition, or media attention – can only benefit our players as they continue to gain experience at this level."
  • Five exceptions to roster that began training three weeks ago: Pat Noonan (knee) and Brian Mullan (ankle) are out with injuries; Denmark-based defenders Dan Califf and Heath Pearce are heading back to their clubs to begin preseason. Twellman has been added to the camp after missing the first part of the year recovering from a hernia injury.
  • Match will be the 52nd between the two countries. The US is 6-0-1 on home soil since 2000.
  • Next up after Mexico: Ecuador (Mar. 25, Tampa, Fla.), Guatemala (Mar. 28, Frisco, Texas), Gold Cup (June 6-24, US), Copa America (June 26-July 15, Venezuela)
  • Roster: Goalkeepers (4) – Joe Cannon (LA Galaxy), Matt Pickens (Chicago Fire), Troy Perkins (DC United), Matt Reis (New England Revolution); Defenders (9) – Chris Albright (LA Galaxy), Bobby Boswell (DC United), Jonathan Bornstein (Chivas USA), Jimmy Conrad (Kansas City Wizards), Todd Dunivant (New York Red Bulls), Bryan Namoff (DC United), Michael Parkhurst (New England Revolution), Dasan Robinson (Chicago Fire), Eddie Robinson (Houston Dynamo); Midfielders (7) –Kyle Beckerman (Colorado Rapids), Brian Carroll (DC United), Ricardo Clark (Houston Dynamo), Josh Gros (DC United), Sacha Kljestan (Chivas USA), Justin Mapp (Chicago Fire), Pablo Mastroeni (Colorado Rapids); Forwards (6) –Kenny Cooper (FC Dallas), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Eddie Johnson (Kansas City Wizards), Nate Jaqua (LA Galaxy), Chris Rolfe (Chicago Fire), Taylor Twellman (New England Revolution); Coach: Bob Bradley
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply